• Home
  • Dates & Schedule
South African Racing

2020 Durban July Dates - Schedule for South Africa's world famous handicap

By Jon Vine
Learn about our editorial policies
13 Jul 2020
  • We bring you the dates for the 2020 Durban July meeting
  • This year's rescheduled Durban July card has been pushed back to Saturday 25th July
  • The Durban July heads the card
  • There's also a second Grade One taking place that afternoon, and several other prestigious races
  • Do It Again will try to become the first three-time winner of the Durban July
durban july greyville
Durban July. (Getty)
Share this article
success image

We bring you the Durban July dates for the rescheduled race in 2020, and also the full Durban July schedule with details of the races punters can watch at Greyville on Saturday 25th July.

The Durban July is the biggest race South African horse racing meeting. Not only is the on-track action of the highest calibre and millions of rand in prize money gets handed out, but it’s also a country-wide social event, bringing together racing fans and dignitaries from all over South Africa.

The Covid-19 pandemic, which has caused havoc with sporting schedules around the world, has also disrupted the racing season in South Africa. 

The Durban July usually takes place during the first week of July. However the 2020 meeting has been pushed back to the Saturday, July 25th, and all of the races will take place behind closed doors.

2020 Durban July Schedule

Time (UK Time)
11:35amPinnacle Stakes 1000m (Poly)
12:10pmKZN Yearling Sales Million 1300m (Turf)
12:45pmCampanajo 2200 2200m (Turf)
1:20pmDSTV Gold Vase 3000m (Turf)
1:55pm Golden Slipper 1400m (Turf)
2:30pmDurban Golden Horseshoe 1400m (Turf)
3:10pmVodacom Durban July 2200m (Turf) (Grade One Handicap)
3:45pmJonsson Workwear Garden Province Stakes 1600m (Turf) (Grade One)
4:20pmThukela Handicap 1600m (Turf)
4:55pmEthekwini Sprint 1200m (Poly)

Racing fans watching on from home will have ten excellent races to take in on Durban July day. The first pattern race on the Durban July schedule is the Grade Three Campanajo 2200, before stayers take to the track and battle it out in the 15-furlong Gold Vase.

The Grade Two Golden Slipper is up next, before the namesake race of the entire meeting, the Durban July Handicap. The prize pot may be slightly depleted in 2020, but this year’s Durban July has still attracted a top-quality list of entries. All eyes will be on Do It Again, who will bid to become the first three-time winner of the Durban July, having claimed victory in 2018 and ’19.

Once the winner of the Durban July has exited the winners' enclosure, fillies and mares get their chance to shine in the Grade One Garden Province Stakes. The Durban July date concludes with the Thukela Handicap and the Ethekwini Sprint.

2020 Durban July Handicap Key Facts

Race TitleVodacom Durban July
2020 DateSaturday, 25th July 2020
Prize Money1,500,000R
StatusGrade One
Race TypeHandicap
Distance2200m (11f)

2020 Durban July Odds

Rainbow Bridge5.5
Do It Again7.5
Bunker Hunt8.5
Got The Green Light8.5

*Odds taken from sportingbet.co.za on 9/7/20*

Durban July FAQs

What date is the Durban July?

The 2020 Durban July Handicap will take place on Saturday 25th July.

Who is the Durban July favourite?

Belgarion impressed when winning the World Sports Betting 1900 in June, and he heads SportingBet's market for the 2020 Durban July Handicap.

What was the Durban July result?

In 2019, Do It Again became the fifth horse to win the Durban July twice, successfully defending the crown he won in 2018.

Where can I place my Durban July bets?

SportingBet.co.za is the best place to bet on the Durban July, and all South African racing.


Top Betting Sites

Betting offers

Upcoming Events